08 -Applying for an Internship

kinnear-centre-aerial

My stretch quest for this week falls into the professional category. The past few summers I’ve spent my time toiling away at dead-end jobs landscaping, cutting grass at golf courses and bussing tables at restaurants, but I’ve decided enough is enough! I want to find a position where I can work towards my long-term career goals while still getting to enjoy my summer.

So this week I decided to apply for a media management internship at The Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity. Here is a sample of the résumé I came up with…

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 1.55.58 AM                      Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 1.57.36 AM

I stumbled upon the position while surfing the web for jobs one day and it struck me how great of an opportunity this would be. Firstly, I love Banff – it is one of my favourite places to visit and I can only fantasize about what it would be like to live and work there. Secondly, the position seems like it would be right up my alley – working as an intern to develop and manage content for The Banff Centre would be a professional dream come true for me.

I’ve spent countless hours working on a résumé and cover letter that I am pleased with, In the process I have consulted multiple people for use as references and my technical writing professor Richard for advice on the résumé and cover letter to get my best chance at getting an interview.

My hope with this is that I can at least get an interview, but even if I am unsuccessful I am happy that I took the steps toward finding a job that relates to my field of study and I will still have a great document that I can tweak to suit other potential positions.

Wish me luck!

Author: Austin Coll

Student studying Information Design at Mount Royal University in Calgary, AB.

Leave a Reply

